If you save an .xlsx file in Excel 2016 (version 1707, build 8326.2073) with the August 2017 Microsoft Office update or in Office 365 on Windows, when you try to open the file in JMP, you receive the message "An error occurred while opening this file." and the file fails to load.
This issue is resolved in JMP 13.2.1 (an update installer for JMP 13.2.1 was made available for download in early September 2017).
If you're using JMP 13, you can use this installer to update to 13.2.1. (Note: The JMP 13.2.1 update installer is no longer available. If you're using a version of JMP 13 earlier than 13.2.1, use the workaround for JMP 11 or JMP 12 described below.)
If you are using JMP 11 or JMP 12, use one of the following workarounds:
- Open the .xlsx file in Excel, copy the data, and then paste it into an empty data table in JMP by selecting File → New → Data Table, then Edit → Paste (or Edit → Paste with Column Names).
- In Excel, save the file as an .xls file instead of .xlsx, and then load that file in JMP.
- Use the JMP add-in for Excel to transfer data from Excel to JMP.
- Read the .xlsx file via ODBC (File → Database → Open Table).