You can import Excel data into JMP in the following ways:
Specify the file name and load it
- In JMP, select File > Open and select the file type as Excel.
- Navigate to the location of the saved Excel file, select it, and click Open.
This will launch the Excel Import Wizard, which allows you to interactively import Excel files. For details on this feature, please refer to the attached PDF file (JMP_ExcelWizard.pdf). The sample Excel file (exp_01.zip) used in this document can also be downloaded from this page.
Copy data in Excel and paste it into JMP
- In Excel, specify the range of data to copy.
- In JMP, create an empty table by selecting File > New > Data Table.
- Select Edit → Paste with Column Names (or Paste).
- Select File > Save As to save the pasted JMP data table in JMP format (extension *.JMP).
Loading via Excel Add-in
Note:
This is a feature of JMP for Windows. Compatible Excel versions are: JMP 18 and JMP 19: Excel 2016 through Excel 2021 and Office 365; JMP 17: Excel 2013 through Excel 2019 and Office 365; JMP 16 and JMP 15: Excel 2010 through Excel 2019 and Office 365; and JMP 14 and JMP 13: Excel 2010 through Excel 2016.
JMP for Windows allows you to install an Excel add-in that adds a JMP item to a tab or menu when you start Excel.
Select the data in the Excel sheet and click Data Table to load the data into JMP.