JMP's journal feature is useful when presenting the results of your JMP analysis to others in your organization.
A journal is a JMP file format that can contain data tables, reports, scripts, web URLs, text, and more used in your analysis.
Therefore, if you save the contents of your presentation as a journal file, you can complete the presentation using JMP alone, without using PowerPoint, etc. Using a journal is the best way to effectively use the interactive features of JMP.

Journal Examples
In this blog, we will introduce the basic method of creating a journal for those who will be presenting the results of data analysis using JMP. We will also introduce the JMP laser pointer function, which is useful when actually giving a presentation.
*Finally, we have prepared a video on how to create a journal. We have also attached the journal file (Collinearity.jrn) created in that video for your reference.
Basic steps for journaling
Starting the journal
From the JMP menu bar, select File > New > Journal to start a blank journal.
At the top of the journal are icons used to create a journal (see the red box in the image below). You can create content by clicking and dropping these icons into the journal.

For basic operations, it's a good idea to know how to use the "Outline" (the leftmost icon) and "Text" (the third icon from the right) among the icons.
Adding a Text Item
Click the "Text" icon and drop it in the appropriate location in your journal to add a text item, where you can edit the text name.After editing, right-click the text and you can change the font size, color, etc. from the right-click menu.

Adding an outline item
Click the "Outline" icon and drop it into the appropriate place in your journal to add an outline item, which you can use to add text and content to create hierarchical structures and to expand and collapse the item itself.
Click the red triangle to the left of an outline item to add text, an outline, a file, a script, and more.

Essentially, by repeating these steps you can create a journal for your presentation.
Below, we'll show you how to add data tables, analysis reports, text bullets, and scripts to your journal.
Adding a Data Table
When the added data table is open, select [Add Window Reference] and select the data table you want to add.The figure shows the operations performed with the JMP sample data "Longley.jmp" already open.

Alternatively, you can select Add File Reference and then select the appropriate data table from the folders that appear to add it.
*This operation creates in the journal the link information (path) to the data table. Therefore, if you have moved the location of the data table, you will need to edit the link.
Adding a Report
You can also add JMP analysis reports to the Journal by selecting the part of the report you want to add with the Selection tool (Tools > Selection Tool), dragging it, and dropping it into the Journal in the desired location.

*If you add a report to a journal, you will not be able to select options or use interactive features for the added report.
Add bulleted text
When adding text using [Add Text Item] , if you check [Bullets] in the bottom left, the text will be formatted as a bulleted list with a (・) at the beginning of the document.

You can add bullets later by right-clicking on non-bulleted text and selecting Bullets.
Adding a script
The Add Script button allows you to add a script (JSL) to the journal and run the script on the journal.
In the following example, a multiple regression analysis was performed on "Longley.jmp" using the Fit Model button, and the script was copied and pasted into the "Script" field displayed by the Add Script Button. Clicking the "Multiple Regression Script" button that appears in the journal will run the script.

Journal storage and locking
Once you have completed your journal, click File > Save As to save it as a JMP Journal (*.jrn) file. You can also lock the journal by right-clicking on a blank area of the journal and selecting Lock.You will not be able to add items.

Use of laser pointers
When giving a presentation in JMP, you may want to visually highlight a particular graph or statistic (such as an estimate or p-value) in a report. In such cases, the laser pointer can be useful.
From the menu bar, select [JMP] > [Preferences] . Select the "Report" item from the Preferences window, and select the desired color from the "Laser Pointer" pull-down menu.

In this state, you can drag the mouse cursor in the report window to indicate the area you want to emphasize, as shown below.

Appendix: Video of journal creation operation
by Naohiro Masukawa (JMP Japan)
Naohiro Masukawa - JMP User Community