This page contains a video introducing the new features of the latest version, JMP 18, released in April 2024.
We have summarized the new features for Data Tables, Reporting, Data Import, and Workflow Builder as short videos for each topic, so please select the one that interests you from the table of contents and watch the video.
table of contents
*This video was created using the latest version at the time of creation, JMP 18.0.1.
*You can watch the video in full screen by clicking the icon at the bottom right.
For information about new analysis and graph features in JMP 18, see the following pages:
"JMP 18" New features that are useful for work - Analysis, Graphs (Japanese) - JMP User Community
-
1. Adding a header graph (2 minutes 14 seconds)
|
You can change the graph type by right-clicking on the graph part of the header graph and selecting [Graph type] .
Summary Graph Types
|
-
2. Header statistics (2 minutes 18 seconds)
|
Clicking on the Σ icon will display summary statistics for each column.
You can display summary statistics for just the selected rows.
|
-
3. Queue Manager (5 minutes 6 seconds)
|
- A new platform for viewing and managing column properties.
- Clicking on the icon in the top right of the column panel will launch the Column Manager.
- The Column Manager window allows you to perform operations related to columns, such as changing the scale and column name, and setting value labels.
- Select a column in the Column Manager and use the right-click menu to add column properties, launch univariate distributions, recode, etc.
|
-
4. Keep the queue compact (3 minutes 40 seconds)
|
For strings, you can reduce file size by setting the subtype to Compact (for columns that contain many duplicate values).
- Select a character column and select Column > Column Info .
- Set the subtype to Compact .
 |
-
5. Bulk application of formulas (3 minutes 16 seconds)
|
Group multiple selected columns together to create a formula.
Example: If there are six variables X1, X2, X3, X4, X5, and Y, by combining X1 to X5, you can create Y/X1, Y/X2, Y/X3, Y/X4, and Y/X5 all at once.
- Select the columns you want to combine and select [Column] > [Formula]
- Select [All] when editing the formula
|
-
6. Tips on Data Tables (2 minutes 38 seconds)
|
|
Double-click to adjust column width
Column widths are automatically adjusted according to the column name and length of the string (this function is equivalent to [Column] > [Reset Display Width]).
Change the background and text color of column headers
You can right-click on a column header to change the background color or text color of the header.
|
-
7. Platform Presets (7 minutes 9 seconds)
|
- You can save customizations to platform reports.
- Saved settings (presets) can be recalled and applied to other reports.
- Presets that you have saved can be exported to a file, and JMP users can share the file to share presets on the platform.
Export your own presets - Open the "Platform Presets" group in File > Preferences, click Export, and save with the extension (*.jmppresets).
Loading a preset - In the same place in the preferences, click the [Load] button to load the preset format file.
|
-
8. Improving analysis reports when using By variables (5 minutes 14 seconds)
|
Efficient processing of multiple reports when specified in the By group.
- You can apply options all at once by clicking the red triangle button in the upper left corner of the report.
- You can specify the report layout (multiple rows, tabs, etc.).
- You can specify the order in which reports are displayed.
For example, if you select [Fit, descending], the report will be displayed in descending order of R-squared.
- Local data filters and column switchers can also be applied to all reports at once.
|
-
9. Reporting Tips (3 minutes 6 seconds)
|
Find Report Options
Minimize annotations
Annotations created with the Annotation tool (Tools > Annotation tool) can be minimized (right-click on the annotation and select Minimize).
Scientific notation for numbers10Display as a power of
In the axis settings, set the format to "Exponential notation" and check Unicode superscripts.
|
-
10. Update Import from PI Server(5 minutes 35 seconds)
|
In JMP 18, you can connect to a PI Server by going to File > Database > Read from PI Server .
New in JMP 18
- Load multiple attributes simultaneously
- "Stacking" tables on import
- Changing import settings with the "update" script
- Adding and deleting attributes with the "Modify Attributes" script
|
-
11. Workflow Builder Updates (12:54)
|
Key Additions in JMP 18
- Looping with For Each: Loop through actions to perform the same process on multiple tables.
- Branching processing using If, Else: Create an execution step if the If condition is met, and an execution step if the condition is not met.
- Log executed steps: Logs the JSL script of executed steps.
- Workflow Package Locking: Create workflows that cannot be edited.
|