This is a short video that explains how to operate each function, focusing on the data processing functions introduced in the webinar ``Data processing with JMP - Beyond spreadsheets'' held in February 2024.
If you want to delete unnecessary rows, hide a column, or remove duplicate data, or if you are wondering "What should I do to process data in this way in JMP?", be sure to check out this video collection.
*This seminar uses the latest version, JMP 18.0.
*For data processing, functions such as joining multiple tables, concatenating, transposing, and stacking columns are also useful. These features are summarized in the video collection below.
Useful for data processing! Functions in the "Table" menu (Japanese) - JMP User Community
*Many of the videos explained in this seminar use the Hostel dataset found on the following page.
Japan Hostel Dataset (kaggle.com)
*Click the Full Screen icon at the bottom right of the video to enlarge it.
table of contents
-
0. Introduction (5 minutes 59 seconds)
|
Introduction to this video.
Main items
- Turn raw data into analytical data
- What to do on the JMP side when you load data into JMP
- Benefits of data processing with JMP
- Data processing introduced in this video
- Main data used in this seminar
- Examples of exploratory data exploration in JMP (demonstration)
|
-
1. Checking and changing column scale (2 minutes 54 seconds)
|
Use : After importing a spreadsheet such as Excel into JMP, check whether the column scale is the expected scale and change the scale if necessary.
Continuous scale: numerical measurements, quantitative variables (continuous)
Nominal scale: Numerical or character qualitative variable (categorical) with no meaning in order
Ordinal scale: Numeric or character qualitative variables with order meaning (categorical)
As a general rule, numerical strings are converted to continuous scale, and character strings are converted to nominal scale.
Operation : Click the icon to the left of the column name in the Columns panel (center left of the data table) to change the scale.
|
-
2. Check and change the display order of values (11 minute 45 seconds)
|
Uses : To change the order in which categories (levels) are displayed in JMP reports (tables, graphs, etc.).
操作:
- Select the column in the data table for which you want to change the category order, and select Columns > Column Info.
- From the [Column Properties] on the bottom left, select [Value Display Order]
- Change the order of values in the Custom Order section
|
-
3. Setting column labels and row labels (2minutes 48 seconds)
|
Usage : Display labels for plot points on a graph. If you set a column label, the value of that column will be displayed as the label. If you set a row label, the label will be displayed on the graph for the plot points in that row.
操作:
Column Label : Select the column you want to label and select [Column] > [With Label/Without Label].
Row label : select the appropriate row and select Row > Labeled/Unlabeled
Note : To remove the label setting, perform the same operation as above (no label).
|
-
4. Column grouping (1minutes 28 seconds)
|
Usage : In a JMP data table, you can group columns together so that when specifying columns in an analysis or graphing platform, all variables in that group are specified together.
How to do it : Select all the columns you want to group and choose Column > Group Columns .
Note : If you want to ungroup a column, select the group and choose Columns > Ungroup Columns .
|
-
5. Excluding rows unnecessary for analysis (4minutes 11 seconds)
|
Uses : For JMP data tables, to exclude rows not needed for analysis or to subset data that meets certain conditions.
操作:
Hide and exclude rows
With the row you want to exclude selected, select [ Rows] > [Hide and Exclude]
Subset
- Select Table > Subset
- Select the radio button [Filtered rows] and set the filter conditions
|
-
6. Exclude and Hide Columns (1minutes 57 seconds)
|
Usage : Hide specific columns in a JMP data table. Example: For data with many columns, hide columns that are not needed for analysis.
Hide: Do not display the column in the data table.
Exclude: Do not include the column in the analysis (it will be removed from the platform column selection options).
操作:
Do not show
Select the column in question and select Column > Hide/Unhide
exclude
Select the relevant column and select [Column] > [Exclude/Do not exclude]
|
-
7. Recode (5minutes 53 seconds)
|
Uses : Mainly used for categorical variables (nominal scale, ordinal scale) to change or merge category values. Can also be used to extract specific characters (numeric values) from a string.
Action : Select the relevant column, select Column > Recode , and specify the new values (the values to be recoded) for the old values (the current values).
 |
-
8. Creating calculation formulas (6minutes 24 seconds)
|
Purpose : Create calculation formulas for JMP data tables.
操作:
1. How to select the corresponding calculation formula from the right-click menu
Select the column for the calculation formula, right-click the column name, and select [Create new calculation formula]
2. How to create a formula using the formula editor
Select the column for which you want to create a formula, and then select Column > Formula.
⇒ The calculation formula editor will start, so create a calculation formula.
|
-
9. Creating a categorization formula (223 seconds)
|
Uses : To set cut points for continuous columns and create categorical variables.
Example: For a column in which age is entered, create a categorical column that divides the age into teens, 20s, etc.
操作:
- Select a continuous column and choose Columns > Utilities > Create Categorization Formula
- Set the cut point and select Create Calculated Column .
 |
-
10. Copy, paste column properties (21 minute 13 seconds)
|
Usage : In JMP data tables, you can set properties (attributes) for columns, such as the display order of values, value labels, etc. You can copy the properties set for one column and paste them into another column to apply the same properties to that column.
操作:
- Select the column, right-click the column name and select Copy Column Properties .
- Select the column you want to copy, right-click the column name and select [Paste Column Properties] .
 |
-
11. Copy and paste row attributes (21 minute 45 seconds)
|
Uses : Copy row attributes (exclude, hide, label, etc.) to columns in a data table and paste them wherever you need them.
Example: When there are multiple exclusion conditions for one data table, these exclusion conditions can be saved in the data table and applied when necessary.
操作:
Create a destination column
Change the data type to Row State.
Copy current row status to columns
Click the column icon and select Copy from row attributes .
Apply information in a row state column as row states in a data table
Click the column icon and select [Copy to row attributes] .
 |
-
12. Checking and Processing Missing Data (5minutes 22 seconds)
|
Use : Examine missing data. In JMP, you can mainly check missing values in detail using the [Inspect Missing Values] or [Display Missing Value Patterns] platforms.
操作:
Check for missing values : Select Analyze > Screening > Check for Missing Values and select the columns you want to check for missing values.
Show missing value pattern : Select Table > Show missing value pattern and select the column in which you want to check for missing values.
|
-
13. Checking and handling outliers (4minutes and 38 seconds)
|
Usage : Check for outliers. In JMP, you can check for outliers visually using box plots and scatter plots, or you can use the Check for outliers platform.
操作:
Check for outliers : Select Analyze > Screening > Check for outliers and select the column (continuous) you want to check for outliers.
|
-
14. Delete duplicate data (415 minutes and 14 seconds)
|
Purpose : Select columns with duplicate values in the selected column.
Action : Select the column you want to examine, then choose Rows > Select Rows > Select Duplicate Rows .
|