☐ cool new feature
☑ could help many users!
☑ removes a „bug“
☐ nice to have
☐ nobody needs it
At the moment, a data table object is removed from Application Builder as soon as the user closes the respective data table.
This destroys all links to the data table (plots, column list boxes, data filters ...), leading to a non-functional Application.
If the user doesn't notice and saves the Application, he loses all his work.
Unfortunately (1), Application Builder doesn't use the
preferences. So, the last saved version of the application can be quite old - and many changes will be lost if the last saved version has to be recovered.
Unfortunately (2), there is no warning, the data table is just closed and the application gets non-functional.
Workaround for users who already lost an application:
- Don't use Aplication Builder.
- Apply extreme care, when an application is opened in edit mode:
First save and close the application, then close the data table
My wish: Could you please change the behavior such a user is save against this issue.
Options:
- If a data table is closed which is used in an application, please show a warning message asking the user
if he really wants to close the data table - as this will destroy the application. - Keep the structure in the application as it is (even with closed data table)
if the user wants to continue editing the application, Jmp can ask the user if it's OK to open the data table again.

https://community.jmp.com/t5/Discussions/Collection-of-quot-funny-quot-JSL-newbie-questions/m-p/580077/highlight/true#M78727