Does updating the version of JMP wipe preferences from previous versions?I have a buddy that was using JMP v. 15 and upgraded to 16 and lost all preferences. This is on a windows version. Is this typical? I have not noticed this behavior myself, but I primarily use the Mac version. TIA.
Advanced Statistical ModelingConsumer and Market ResearchData AccessMass CustomizationWindowsRe: Does updating the version of JMP wipe preferences from previous versions?Thanks folks.
Re: Does updating the version of JMP wipe preferences from previous versions?If you are using JMP annual license on Windows, you can install different versions of JMP side by side. So, 15 and 16 can coexist. When that happens, your 15 preferences are retained by not migrated to 16. So, when you start 16 it may seem like they were lost, but if you go back to 15 you'll see them there.
If you use JMP Subscription, there is no side-by-side operation. When you update JMP to a new version, your old preferences will be retained.
The annual license behavior was retained based on AL customer feedback.
Brian Corcoran
JMP Development
Re: Does updating the version of JMP wipe preferences from previous versions?I don't remember that happening at least not with JMP15 to JMP16 update. Ask your buddy to check C:\Users\AppData\Roaming\SAS\JMP\ and different JMP version folders. I think Preferences are saved to JMP.PFS file and hopefully JMP15 one hasn't been overwritten. There might also be some other locations where the settings are saved to.
Re: Does updating the version of JMP wipe preferences from previous versions?I thought that they were preserved in an external file. In fact, you can share the file with others and they now have the same customized preferences.
The question is, where is that file stored? The location might have changed somehow. (Like, previous version was 32-bit and current version is 64-bit) Check the Preferences:

You can move the file to the new location of the current version and it should recognize the custom settings.