Sometimes you may come across a data table in a table on the web. If so, you can use File->Internet Open->Web Page... to import that data directly into a data table. This is really handy for pages like this table of S&P 500 companies on Wikipedia.
Extract values from character data using the Word() function
The Word() function is my Swiss Army knife when dealing with strings of text. The Word() function extracts the nth word from a character string according to the delimiters given. The default delimiter is space. If you include a third argument, any and all characters in that argument are taken to be delimiters. Read more: If you learn only one Formula Editor function, Word() is the one
Column Properties
The JMP data table is a rich storage format providing lots of metadata about the columns of the table. Much of that metadata comes in the form of Column Properties. Here are three useful properties to start with:
- Value Labels - Reformat values for display w/o changing underlying data
- Value Order - Change the order of values in graphs and charts
- Axis - Ensure that data is presented consistently in graphs
Use image files in graphs and elsewhere
You can drag and drop or copy and paste image files (jpeg, png, bmp, etc.) into graphic frames to put the image in the background of the graph. Perhaps you could use this to provide context for the data or insert a logo.
JMP also supports images in JSL. You'll find examples in Image Example JSL.
Layout Report Windows and create Dashboards
You can easily combine multiple reports into a single window and create dashboards. Choose Window->Combine Windows to get a dialog of open windows to choose from. You can arrange the windows on the screen the way you'd like to see them when combined. Below is a short demonstration but there's a much more complete version: Building Dashboards to Access and Share Updated Analyses
Find rows in a data table using Select Matching Cells
In a data table you can select any cell (or cells) and right click to choose Select Matching Cells and all rows with the same value will be selected in the data table. This makes it easy to:
- count the number of rows with the same value - look in the lower left portion of the data table find the count of selected rows)
- create a subset with only certain values
- clean up data by selecting rows with bad values and deleting them
Add summary statistics to a data table
Sometimes it can be helpful to have summary statistics in a data table. Using the Summary table you can drag a column from the summary table back into the main table to have it auto-join and put the summary statistics with the right rows. The trick for dragging the column is to pause for just a moment after clicking before you start dragging.

Using Dates and Times in JMP
The best reference for using dates, times, datetimes, and durations is the blog post I wrote in JMPer Cable.
Here's the TL;DR version:
- JMP stores date and time values as the number of seconds since midnight, January 1, 1904
- Dates are special case of datetime value where the time is set to midnight on the date
Some Q&A from the session:
Is there a way to broadcast changing a column property in a data table?
You can copy and paste column properties, including pasting into multiple columns or between data tables, by right clicking on the column header.
How do you rescale to show all points on charts?
There is a reset axis settings option when you right click on an axis.
How do I set on open JMP instance as the home window? I have multiple JMP Home windows open for different projects. For example, JMP home (1) (2) (3). How do I set JMP Home (2) or (3) as main when I work on project (2) or (3)? If I double click a JMP file, it by default will be opened in JMP home (1).
There is not any real master control over multiple JMP instances (running multiple copies of JMP at the same time). That is not a "best" practice. There is a new Project option in 14 and beyond, and using Projects might help address what you are doing. Access this from File>New>Projects. Also, check out this video to learn more about Projects: https://www.jmp.com/en_us/events/mastering/topics/organizing-your-work-into-projects.html‑
When I have multiple Home windows, is there a way I can reset associations to the current JMP 14 home (2) I am working on and later moved to JMP14 Home (3)?
No. This is an aspect of Windows and controlled by Windows. It is not under JMP control.
Is it possible to define tabs in Journal?
No, but you can tab report output.
Can you change the order of the items in the journal?
Yes. Use the Selection tool (it is a fat plus sing) and drag the parts of the journal to a new location. It's a bit tricky the first time. You must select the item, then click-hold-drag it around.
How do you copy and paste data tables from Excel or sql and keep column headers?
You can copy from Excel and pick Paste with Column Names under the JMP Edit menu. If you open the Excel file with JMP, the Excel Wizard opens and this will help you get data in as well.
Is there a way to make an axis setting a default for always (for example show tick marks vertically or show d\m\y format)?
Right click Copy Paste Column Properties. And, there are also a few things to set up in the File - preferences also to change the defaults.
Is there a way to plot where the X-axis is the column name is a specific order and plot the data of every column on Y axis to see how the data varies at every step (every column)?
I think you might want to make a parallel plot in graph builder. See https://www.jmp.com/support/help/14-2/parallel-plots.shtml#
Is there a way to edit multiple columns and column properties at once (ex: I have 50 columns, one for each state, want to search for any column that starts with letter M, and change axis settings for all of those).
Play around with the Cols > Column Viewer to pick, search and select columns. The copy/paste will work if you use the Column Viewer to select the columns. There is a red triangle above the list of columns to search column
How would you change more than one column from Character to Numeric?
You can select multiple columns from the Cols menu and pick Standardize Attribute. Then, pick data type.
Does JMP 12 have a Combine windows menu?
Yes. You can combine windows with the little check box and drop down in the bottom right hand corner of windows in JMP 12.
After cleanup, can you ask JMP to auto detect the column data type again?
No. You would need to change this in the column info dialog. You can do this for multiple columns by selecting the columns, then use the Cols >Standardize Attributes command and change multiple at once. You can also use a script to import data that includes cleaning up data to automate this more.