Categorical launch: List Box on right side of Response Roles Panel Box<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />I've observed two behaviors in the Categorical launch dialog that interest me. I want to know if these behaviors are as designed. Both concern behavior in the List Box that is on the right side of the Panel Box labeled "Response Roles".
1. If you have previously executed Categorical, then return to the Categorical launch dialog and use the "Recall" button... and further hit "Recall" more than once, you get multiple copies of the previous analysis added into the List Box I am referring to. Based on JMP's behavior in other platforms, I'd expect that "Recall" should first clear any already-existing contents in that List Box.
2. If you double click something that is already in that List Box, it removes the double-clicked item. This matches JMP's behavior in other platforms but is counter-intuitive to new JMP users. In a training I helped give yesterday, people were using "Recall", then double-clicking an item hoping to be able to Edit it in the Structured tab. I can sympathize with this expectation, but I can also teach that JMP has a history of double-click = "Remove" and not double-click = "Edit" in platform launches. Which should it be?
Re: Categorical launch: List Box on right side of Response Roles Panel Box
@mjoner wrote:
1. If you have previously executed Categorical, then return to the Categorical launch dialog and use the "Recall" button... and further hit "Recall" more than once, you get multiple copies of the previous analysis added into the List Box I am referring to. Based on JMP's behavior in other platforms, I'd expect that "Recall" should first clear any already-existing contents in that List Box.
This defect is being addressed in JMP 14.1. Thanks for your patience.
Re: Categorical launch: List Box on right side of Response Roles Panel BoxThanks, Michael.
1. This appears to be a bug. I've entered it as such: Defect ID S1221722.
2. As you note, double-clicking on an item in a response role removes it. I understand the confusion but this is consistent with the other launch dialogs.
Let us know if you have other questions or concerns.
-Jeff