Session 2: Deleted GIDB SitesCurrent Process Flow
Curren Process Details
Reasons for deleting a site:
- Cancellation by customer (80%)
- Consolidation of multiple sites (20%)
- Most deleted site customers do not get reinstated
Deleted sites are in a separate table in GIDB
- This list is ongoing and customers do not get removed from it, so a customer who gets “un-deleted” could still be on the deleted sites list
- New DP customers who choose invoice, but don’t pay are marked as deleted
- EIS customers have a 50-year SETINIT, but they pay an annual maintenance fee
- If they don’t pay fee for 1 year after expiration, the site is deleted
- Marked deletion flag stays on GIDB record until actual expiration of SETINIT
Challenges/Considerations
- Accounts get marked for deletion in ORION, but not actually deleted
- Deleted sites table in ORION
- Need a way to alert Sales and Biz Ops of deleted accounts
- Sites deleted because
- Customer doesn’t renew / pay invoice (%?)
- Site is merged into another site under the same account (%?)
- If merged, need to reconcile account in Salesforce with new site id
Requirements
- Site number value is the “key” that connects GIDB and SFDC
- Need a way to indicate cancellations to sales in SFDC
- Will need site level data in SFDC for above to work
- ”Round-trip” communication between GIDB and SFDC
- Need to update account level data when site is deleted
- Ex: an account with one site, which cancels should no longer be considered a customer in SFDC
- Requirement: notify sales priorto actual cancellation, possibly at time of futures letter
- Requirement: sales should notify ops when they know a cancellation is coming.
- Combination of above requirements should
- reduce the number of cancellations
- Reduce the number of cancellations that Bus. Ops (Diane) has to research
- Requirement: capture both the deletion and the date that it occurred
Item for further discussion: COMIT call to automate cancellation reasons any updates to GIDB records from Salesforce
COMITGIDBKickoff SessionsSalesforceRe: Session 2: Deleted GIDB SitesHere are some clarifications and feedback...
Deleted sites are in a separate table in GIDB (Deleted GIDB)
- This list is ongoing and customers do not get removed from it, so a customer who gets “un-deleted” could still be on the deleted sites list (the Deleted Site will stay in ORION for 5 years before it is removed) (A reinstated Site from the Deleted GIDB will be in Active GIDB on the Product Level, Additional Information tab with a “Reinstate Date”)
- New DP customers who choose invoice, but don’t pay are marked as deleted. These Orders follow the same process for Collections and Cancellations as Annual License invoices.
- EIS customers have a 50-year SETINIT, but they pay an annual maintenance fee
- If they don’t pay fee for 2 years after Maintenance expiration date the site is deleted
- Marked deletion flag stays on GIDB record until actual expiration of SETINIT Expires (in other words the Site stays in the Active GIDB dataset until the Drop-off Date at which time the Site moves to the Deleted GIDB dataset)
Here are the deletion rules per Licensing Operations link:
- If Deletion Category is Customer Requested and the product is in the NEW or RENEWAL, the system calculates the Deletion Date as the SETINIT Expires Date and the product drops off the GIDB on the SETINIT Expires Date. Note: If the SETINIT Expires Date has already passed, the product should drop off the GIDB overnight.
Exceptions to this are:
- If the Deletion Category is Customer Requested and the Deletion Reason is Beta Test Product Cancellation, then system calculates the Deletion Date as 30 days past the SETINIT Expires Date, regardless of the PERIOD.
- If the Deletion Category is Customer Requested and the Deletion Reason is Cancellation of Trial Product, then system calculates the Deletion Date as the current date and the product should drop off the GIDB overnight, regardless of the PERIOD.
- If the Deletion Category is Customer Requested and the Deletion Reason is Delete Foreign Product, then system calculates the Deletion Date as the current date and product should drop off the GIDB overnight, regardless of the PERIOD.
- If the Deletion Category is Internal Maintenance, the system calculates the Deletion Date as the current date, regardless of the PERIOD, with the following exception:
- If the Deletion Reason is Cancellation of Add-on product due to Cancellation of Base product, then system deletes the product the same night that the base product at the same site is deleted. The add-on product appears the following day in the Deleted GIDB with a Deletion Date that is the same as the base product at the same site.
- Accounts get marked for deletion in ORION, but not actually deleted – Need better explanation of what this means. ORION has an Existing Customer flag that when marked indicates the Account is a customer who has purchased software. This icon at the end of the ORION Account ID identifies that the Account is an Existing Customer and will have Active Sites in the Account Related Sites list. The ORION Account is not deleted when there are no Active Sites associated with the Account.
- Need a way to alert Sales and Biz Ops of deleted accounts Sites
- If merged, need to reconcile account in Salesforce with new site id
- Site number value is the “key” that connects GIDB and SFDC – For individual GIDB Site information.
- Need to update account level data when site is deleted – i.e. the Account will still be there with 1 less site.
- Ex: an account with one site, which cancels should no longer be considered a customer in SFDC but still should be listed as a Validated Account in SFDC
- Requirement: capture both the deletion (Drop off Date) and the date that it occurred