In the Preferences -> Report Preference Group, there is a preference for "Close report action". The default is Discard.

Has anyone used, or seen customers use the other options? In JMP 15, we are planning on removing this functionality, since they don't work well (the Save/Auto-Save and Prompt options). There has always been a few bugs in the non-default settings, and several other bugs were introduced in JMP 14 as a byproduct of the Projects project.
We're making other changes to the close/save actions on open documents to better support ongoing projects work in JMP 15 and taking these options out would greatly simplify the close/dirty data table logic, and thus have better code maintainability and fewer opportunities for bugs in the future.
The only bugs filed on these options have been from our internal testers (with no CRPs).
We'd appreciate any additional feedback on this matter.
Count me with Chris, Mark, and Mike.
I have not heard of anyone using them.